A soft spot for outdoor youth

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA At a recent gun show I dropped the price on knives for 2 different boys. I had several Mora Companions for sale, which are excellent knives for their price range. I told my son that although I hated losing the money I remember looking at knife displays as a boy and could not afford a lot of the knives that I really wanted. I like to have a line of decent knives that youth can afford especially in todays electronic world. Youth for the most part cannot afford my handmade knives but knives like Mora are great knives for outdoor youth. I grew up in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina in the late sixties and early seventies. My first real sheath knife was a Sabre brand Bowie knife that cost $2.50. I could not afford the Bucks, Cases, and Schrades that I kept my eye on. I also had cheap Barlow knives that the handles came off of in no time. I don’t remember the brand but they were very cheap. I believe in leaving a good example for our young people in word and in deed. (Acts 7:22 And Moses was learned in all the wisdom of the Egyptians, and was mighty in words and in deeds.) Our youth need a direction so we need to do our part to give them a direction. As I see the youth looking at our displays of knives and survival products I do have a soft spot, and want to make a small difference.

One thought on “A soft spot for outdoor youth

  1. Pingback: A soft spot for outdoor youth | denneyknives

Leave a Reply

