Tom Brown Tracker

Tom Brown TrackerDSCN0719DSCN0716They say imitation is the greatest form of flattery. I usually put my own take on the knives I make, but have always wanted a Tom Brown Tracker. I also am a fan of TOPS Knives, as well as Tom Brown. They are an inspiration for a lot of different styles. Since I do not have a lot of extra money I decided to make my own version. Mine is not an exact copy but the style is close. I chose a single finger choil instead of 2. I also used 3/16″ 1095 carbon steel instead of 1/4″ for a slightly lighter blade. I also wanted to try the 2 blade grinds on one knife. The main end belly of the blade has an outward curve while the blade closest to the handle has a slightly recurved grind. The knife was fun to make and I am looking forward to using it in the field. So although I modified mine slightly I stayed close to the original design. I edge quenched and triple tempered the blade and instead of a kydex sheath I made a leather one. Maybe some day I will make a kydex sheath as well. The saw was one of the hardest parts for me and I still have some filing to do on it. I you want something you can’t afford maybe you can make it. I know a lot of knife makers started because they could not afford the expensive knives.

One thought on “Tom Brown Tracker

  1. Pingback: Tom Brown Tracker | denneyknives

Leave a Reply

